Skip to content ↓

Our Learning



At Primet Primary, our intention is to deliver a creative English curriculum with  providing children with a life-long love of literature through reading enjoyment and engaging writing opportunities, which will inspire and enthuse children to develop a love for English. Children will be provided with opportunities orally to practice and reinforce their learning through active learning styles. Through the English curriculum, we will enable children to become ambitious with their use of vocabulary; become confident with different genres and develop a more creative approach to their writing.   Children will learn to think critically about their writing in an attempt to captivate the reader and adapt their learning accordingly.  We intend to provide opportunities to consolidate and reinforce taught English skills across the curriculum, where children can confidently and creatively apply their learning. 


Statutory requirements for the teaching and learning of English are laid out in the National Curriculum English Document (2014) and in the Communication and Language, and Literacy sections of the Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage (2014) In the National Curriculum for 5 - 11 year olds, English is developed through four key areas:

  • Spoken Language
  • Reading – Word Reading & Comprehension
  • Writing – Transcription & Composition
  • Spelling, Vocabulary, Grammar & Punctuation

In the Foundation Stage (Nursery and Reception) children should be given opportunities to:

  • speak and listen and represent ideas in their activities;
  • use communication, language and literacy in every part of the curriculum;
  • Become immersed in an environment rich in print and possibilities for         communication.
  • Undertake a daily phonics lesson.

At Key Stage One (Years 1 and 2), children should learn to:

  • Speak confidently and listen to what others have to say.
  • They should begin to read and write independently and with enthusiasm.
  • They should use language to explore their own experiences and imaginary worlds.

At Key Stage Two (Years 3-6), children should learn to:

  • Change the way they speak and write to suit different situations, purposes and audiences.
  • They should read a range of texts and respond to different layers of meaning in them.
  • They should explore the use of language in literary and non-literary texts and learn how the structure of language works.

Primet Primary School

Tatton Street

Colne, BB8 8JE

01282 864607